Planning & Zoning Commission


The Commission makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on rezoning, special use permit, military compatibility, and plan of development applications, amendments to the Zoning Ordinance, development master plans and comprehensive plans. The Commission may approve preliminary plats, grant requests for initiative or rezoning applications and accept status reports on Special Use Permits.


The Planning & Zoning Commission (P&Z)

 meets at 9:30 a.m. and meetings shall be held at least twice a month with the exception of months with scheduled ZIPPOR meetings (February, May, August and November). 

Board of Supervisor's Auditorium
205 W Jefferson Street 
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

The Zoning, Infrastructure, Policy, Procedure and Ordinance Review (ZIPPOR) Committee

 shall be held once per quarter in February, May, August, and November.
Maricopa County Planning and Development Department
301 W Jefferson Street Suite 170
Phoenix, AZ 85003
Please note either meeting location, date or time can change according to room availability, quorum needs, or other logistic concerns. Please refer to the agenda for specific meeting information and location. 

Special Meetings

Listed here (if any)

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Annual Planning and Zoning and ZIPPOR Meeting Schedule
Virtual Meeting Guidelines - Citizen Review & Participation
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Appeal of Planning & Zoning Commission Recommendation

Appeal Form

Chairman/Vice Chairman Information

The P&Z elects a chairman and vice-chairman who must be appointed from separate districts. The chairman runs public hearings according to a modified version of Robert’s Rules of Order. The vice-chairman will run the hearing in the chairman’s absence. If both the chairman and vice-chairman are absent, the P&Z will elect an acting chairman for the purpose of running the hearing.
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel

Current Members

Representation Member Current Term
District 1 Spike Lawrence 09/15/2021 - 12/31/2022
District 1 Jimmy Lindblom 01/06/2021 - 12/31/2024
District 2 Greg Arnett, Chair 01/01/2021 - 12/31/2024
District 2 Jay Swart - Vice-Chair 10/07/2020 - 12/31/2022
District 3 Kate Brophy McGee 02/10/2021 - 12/31/2024
District 3 Matt Gress  03/25/2020 - 12/31/2022
District 4 Lucas Scholsser 01/09/2019 - 12/31/2022
District 4 Erik Hernandez 01/27/2021 - 12/31/2024
District 5 Francisca Montoya 01/01/2021 - 12/31/2024
District 5 Kevin Danzeisen 01/13/2021 - 12/31/2022 
  1. Member Qualifications
  2. Duties & Powers
  3. Formation Authority

Member Qualifications

A.R.S. § 11-802:
  1. Except as provided in subsection E of this section, in the counties having 5 supervisorial districts, each county planning and zoning commission shall consist of 10 members who shall be qualified electors of the county (2 members shall be appointed from each supervisorial district by the supervisor from that district). Members shall be residents of the district from which they are appointed. Members of the commission shall serve without compensation except for reasonable travel expenses.
  2. The terms of the members of the commissions shall be for 4 years except for those initially appointed. Of those members initially appointed pursuant to subsection C of this section, 5 members shall be appointed to a 2 year term, and 4 members shall be appointed to a 4 year term. Of those members initially appointed pursuant to subsection D of this section, 5 members shall be appointed to a 2 year term, and 5 members shall be appointed to a 4 year term. Thereafter, each term shall be 4 years. If a vacancy occurs otherwise than by expiration of term, the vacancy shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired portion of the term. The board may remove members of the commission for cause.
  3. The county assessor, county engineer, county health officer and county attorney shall serve in an advisory capacity to the commission and to the boards of adjustment.
  1. Planning & Development

    Physical Address
    301 W. Jefferson St.
    Phoenix, AZ 85003

    Phone: 602-506-3301
    Fax: 602-506-3601

Related Documents