Community Development Advisory Committee


The Community Development Advisory Committee was created by the Board of Supervisors to act in an advisory capacity on matters concerning the Maricopa County Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program, including funding recommendations, fair housing, and housing affordability issues affecting low/moderate income people. It is a standing committee for the duration of the Maricopa County CDBG program. It functions in such a manner as to allow continuity of effective involvement of participating cities and towns and the citizens organizations throughout all stages of the Block Grant program.


  • Regular meetings are held as scheduled on the second Wednesday of each month.
  • Maricopa County Human Services Department
    234 N Central Avenue
    3rd Floor
    Phoenix, AZ 85003

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.

Audio recordings of the most recent meeting are available until the minutes are approved by the Committee. If the minutes for the most recent meeting are not available at the link below, contact Rachel Milne at Email, or 602-372-1528 to request a digital copy of the audio recording.

Minutes are available following approval by the Committee. View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Current Members

Representation Member Current Term
District 1 Jacki Taylor ​
Amanda Nosbisch
07/22/2020 - 06/30/2022
09/01/2021 - 06/30/2022
District 2 Marshall Hunt ​
Kevin Medema
07/01/2020 - 06/30/2022
​07/01/2020 - 06/30/2022
District 3 Anthony Gutowski
07/01/2019 - 06/30/2021

District 4
Sharman Hickman
Ira McCullough
08/01/2019 - 06/30/2021
03/24/2021 - 06/30/2023
District 5 David E. Galaviz
10/06/2021 - 06/30/2023

  City/Town Primary/​Alternate
Current Term
  City of Buckeye Jeanine Guy/
​Michelle Hess
07/22/2020 - 06/30/2022
07/22/2020 - 06/30/2022
  City of El Mirage Anita Norton/
Roy Delgado
07/22/2020 - 06/30/2022
07/22/2020 - 06/30/2022
  Town of Fountain Hills No representation  
City of Goodyear
Brannon Hampton/
​Wally Campbell
09/16/2020 - 06/30/2021
09/16/2020 - 06/30/2021
  Town of Gila Bend James Turner/
Fernando Fernandez
07/22/2020 - 06/30/2022
07/22/2020 - 06/30/2022
  Town of Guadalupe ​Ricardo Vital/
Joe Sanchez
07/22/2020 - 06/30/2022
07/22/2020 - 06/30/2022
  City of Litchfield Park No representation  
  Town of Queen Creek No representation  
  City of Tolleson Clorinda Erives/
​Adolfo Gamez
07/01/2021 - 06/30/2023
07/01/2021 - 06/30/2023
  Town of Wickenburg Rui Pereira/
David Stander
07/01/2021 - 06/30/2023
07/01/2021 - 06/30/2023
  Town of Youngtown Margaret Chittenden/
​Susan Hout
07/01/2021 - 06/30/2023
07/01/2021 - 06/30/2023
  1. Member Qualifications
  2. Duties & Powers
  3. Formation Authority

Member Qualifications

Article II - Membership

  1. With the approval of the Board of Supervisors, each Supervisor may appoint 2 members and one alternate from his/her district to serve on the CDAC. Each district member appointed by the Supervisor must not be an elected official of any city/town participating in the grant programs.
  2. The governing board of each city or town participating in the CDBG and/or HOME/ADDI 3-Year Cooperative Agreement may appoint 1 individual and 1 alternate to serve on the CDAC. Each city/town member and alternate must be an elected member of the respective city/town council. Elected city/town members must also be formally appointed to the CDAC by the Board of Supervisors.
  3. CDAC appointments must be made as close to the beginning of each fiscal year as possible. CDAC appointments will be for 1 full fiscal year; from July 1 through June 30.
  4. A member can be removed from the CDAC under the following circumstances:
    • The member is no longer eligible under the CDAC bylaws (for example, an elected representative no longer holds a city/town council position, or a district representative becomes a city/town council member of a participating community)
    • The member voluntarily steps down from the CDAC
    • The member is removed by the appointing body
    • The member is removed by the CDAC at the request of 2/3 of the seated members
    • The member is removed by the Board of Supervisors

Article IV - Officers

1. A Chair and Vice-Chair may serve two consecutive terms in that position if duly re-elected by the CDAC. Note: See Bylaws for additional information.

Article V - Subcommittees

  1. The Chair will, with the approval of a majority of the CDAC, appoint such subcommittees as may be deemed necessary or advisable.
  2. Each subcommittee will appoint one member to serve as the subcommittee Chair. The Chair and/or Vice-Chair of the CDAC may serve as ex-officio members of all subcommittees.
  3. Reports, recommendations and minutes of all meetings of each subcommittee shall be made in writing and the original copy thereof shall be filed and become a part of the records of the Committee.

Article VI - Amendments of Bylaws & Rules of Procedure

The foregoing Bylaws and Rules of Procedures, or any part thereof, may be amended at any meeting of the Committee after not less than 10 days notice has been given to all members of the Committee. It shall require the concurring vote of not less than a quorum of the members to make any amendment in these Bylaws.

Article VII - Conflict of Interest

At all times, the CDAC members will comply with Arizona law (A.R.S. §38-503) and HUD regulations regarding conflict of interest. No member of CDAC may use his or her position on the Committee for a purpose that is, or gives the appearance of being, motivated by a desire for private gain for themselves or specific others, particularly those with whom they have family, business or other ties. In any instance where a conflict might arise because of the potential for financial gain, the member must disclose that financial benefit publicly and the CDAC will follow the federal regulations in securing a decision from HUD on the potential conflict. Any member who feels that personal reasons may unduly prejudice his/her decision shall disqualify himself/herself without reason or suggestions of his/her interest and take no part in discussion or voting on this matter."
  1. Rachel Milne

    Phone: 602-372-1528

  2. Physical Address
    234 N Central Avenue
    3rd Floor
    Phoenix, AZ 85004

    Phone: 602-506-5911
    Fax: 602-506-8789

Related Documents